4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

new mods, and dyno #'s

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2006, 10:02 PM
echoman
2nd Gear Member

Default new mods, and dyno #'s

Hey guys, I finally registered to the forum and I have some questions. I'm not a total newbie to cars, just to the newer computer controlled ones and mustangs. I have now owned my first ever '00 mustang GT AUTO (bone stock except for welded in flows) for a year and a few months.

The car has roughly 56,000 mi. on it and yesterday went to have some work done on it.
The work done is as follows: frpp 4.10 gear; UPR catted x pipe; custom dyno tune by SCT (after the gear and xpipe).

I must admit I was disappointed with my dyno numbers even though I wasn't expecting much, the numbers were worse than expected.
The baseline run I pulled 181 rwhp and 225 rwtq. (After the first pull they said it was running way too lean).
After some tweeking they got me up to 224 rwhp and 265 rwtq.

I know there is more paristitic loss to the wheels with an auto but man, if i did not have the x pipe and tune before i must have been making horrific numbers.

Do I just have a crappy car, or do you guys think those are typical numbers for the mods I have. Also, I suspect the fuel filter needs to be changed b/c its the factory one on it , and the transmission fluid & filter as well. Do you guys think that maybe these filters could hinder the car that much? or not? Sorry for such a long post, hope I did not put you guys to sleep.
Old 05-26-2006, 10:05 PM
2000GT4.6
6th Gear Member

Default RE: new mods, and dyno #'s

ORIGINAL: echoman

Hey guys, I finally registered to the forum and I have some questions. I'm not a total newbie to cars, just to the newer computer controlled ones and mustangs. I have now owned my first ever '00 mustang GT AUTO (bone stock except for welded in flows) for a year and a few months.