4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Turbo mustang vs s/c

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2006, 08:22 PM
JJ03MustangGT
5th Gear Member

Default Turbo mustang vs s/c

aight, so im not an expert by any means but i do kinda know my stuff as far as mustangs go. anyway i have been a devoted kenne bell fan for a while now. ive been savin up for the 2.1 for a good bit. so anyway my roomate is mopar till death do em part. he is tryin to convince me into goin with a turbo. im an airplane mechanic and we have em on a few recips here and there but for the most part i not to familiar with em. with the KB i was gonna build the motor the RIGHT way. do i need to do anything different if i go turbo. for now because of financial reasons can the turbo be put on and have the boost kept down, without hurtin the motor. any good companies to go with. any kind of help would be much appreciated. thanx

advantages________

disadvantages_________
Old 08-30-2006, 08:27 PM
Butters
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Turbo mustang

First off, you'd be more than likely going with a twin turbo kit. They usually dont have them just "in stock" and it takes awhile to get em. I hear great things from HP and Hellion. I think you have to wait like 6 months (MAYBE, IDK) for a hellion kit. They seem really nice. They're reallyyy pricey but it'll make you unique, your torque will be INSANE, you can keep it out of boost when you dont want it, andd it doesnt make the motor work to get the hp as a supercharger does. Turbos are always better than superchargers, just the facts.

Down side: BOOST LEAKS SUCK
Old 08-30-2006, 08:30 PM
JJ03MustangGT
5th Gear Member

yea i know that a twin would be better but i honestly cant afford it. not to mention the fact that there really arent to many DEDICATED stang shops round here that i would trust doin a twin turbo on my car.
Old 08-30-2006, 08:34 PM
Butters
3rd Gear Member