speed limiter? - Page 2 - MustangForums.com


4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2007, 03:53 PM   #11  
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 10,932
Default RE: speed limiter?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 99GTvert

From what I have read, GTs that had the 16 inch wheel option had tires that weren't rated for high speeds above 130ish., hence why Ford put the limiter govenor on.

I don't know of any other way to remove the limiter other than using a tuner.
[/align][/align]+1 -- this is my understanding as well, the speed limiter was set according to the speed rating of the tires as it left the factory--a former SVT member told me this...[/align]
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 08:04 PM   #12  
96mustang gt
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 60
Default RE: speed limiter?

a buddy of mine has a 96 mustang GTwith the 16inwheels and the govener on those cars fromt he factory was 120mph cause those wheels were rated for 127mph. now the 17in version i dono the govener cause that's what i have and i had my car up to 135 and still it didn't cut out yet.
96mustang gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 08:11 PM   #13  
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 10,932
Default RE: speed limiter?

I think most of the 17" wheel models were delivered with Z rated (> 149 MPH) or better tires...
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:08 PM   #14  
Kickinwing77
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 93
Default RE: speed limiter?

hmm i dont know about the mach's there cuz my good friend here kyle had a 2003 mach 1 with only 14k miles on it (manual) and his limiter was 136 mph then bam shut down it was stock too so i dont know just my .02 to bad he totaled it the other day >< bald tires, rainy day, S curve on a high way ouchies.
Kickinwing77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:12 PM   #15  
02WhiteGTVert
3rd Gear Member
 
02WhiteGTVert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 910
Default RE: speed limiter?

car manufactuers usually set the speed limiter to the speed rating of the stock tires they come with.
02WhiteGTVert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 10:02 PM   #16  
cease4
1st Gear Member
 
cease4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 118
Default RE: speed limiter?

In my 99 cobra i was only able to hit like 150 it just wouldnt increase at that speed and i still some rpms to go....just a limiter i believe but i dont care i dont drive 150 but wouldnt hurt to havehigher top speed
cease4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 10:55 PM   #17  
99BlackPonyGT
aka 'Negative Nancy'
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,839
Default RE: speed limiter?

anyway to tell if my car has a limiter without actually going that fast? like can i look up my VIN on the ford site or w/e and see what my car came with? i dont have a valid license at the moment so i dont wanna push my luck at that speed but i would like to know
99BlackPonyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:43 AM   #18  
Nelson21
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lackland AFB
Posts: 144
Default RE: speed limiter?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: DesertMach

The speed limiter on the Machs is 126 for an auto and 151 for the manual, I'm not sure if its the same for the GT, But if you have 4:10's and have not changed the speedo calibration it will be off by apox 20% in which case you would be hitting the limiter alot sooner. I know when I hit the speed limiter on mine (it's an Auto) it seems like it shuts the car down for a few seconds, them picks back up till I hit the limiter again.
Really? On my GT its 140 atleast, havnt gotten past that.
Nelson21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 06:48 AM   #19  
Eagle2000GT
4th Gear Member
 
Eagle2000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Shelbyville, Indiana
Posts: 1,088
Default RE: speed limiter?

Your 99 may have originally had 16 inch rims. I was told once that the speed limiter for 16 in tires (H rating) was set at 130 andthat thespeed limiter for 17 inch tires ( Z rating) was set at 150.
Eagle2000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:45 AM   #20  
6mustang6
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,645
Default RE: speed limiter?

that is interesting about the tire ratings. It seems to be a totally true statement. I've had my car to 130 in 4th gear, and when i shifted to 5th, it wouldn't go past that really. I didn't try it too long. I like High Top Speeds!!! The cop car crown vics are limited to 120-130 depending on what year. :P
6mustang6 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSD 2 Step Rev Limiter firehorse02 Parts For Sale 1 11-16-2015 11:28 AM
Chassis wiggle when off throttle? UrS4 S197 Handling Section 10 10-03-2015 06:23 AM
So who wins uedlose The Racers Bench 4 10-01-2015 08:31 PM
New guy in AZ. First Mustang, First Manual, First car. BeatnikFink New Member Area 6 10-01-2015 08:00 PM
Hello, new user with an older Mustang and a question treesloth New Member Area 4 09-28-2015 07:03 AM


Tags
02, 2004, auto, cobra, disable, governor, gt, limiter, mach, msutang, mustang, recalibrator, speed, speedo, svt

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.