4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

How loud is too loud?

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2006, 11:06 PM
handyandy
4th Gear Member

Default How loud is too loud?

Is there legality problems with a super loud exhaust? Lets just say I had a full exhaust setup with an extremely loud setup. (I'm not a pro at exhaust yet, but lets say LM1's with a offroad X and headers....whatever something really loud). How loud does it have to be for you to get pulled over for it? I live in Texas.
Old 10-09-2006, 11:09 PM
Matts00GT
4th Gear Member

Default RE: How loud is too loud?

No such thing, imo. The law sometimes thinks otherwise.
Old 10-09-2006, 11:09 PM
handyandy
4th Gear Member

There are no "noise pollution" laws pertaining to vehicles?
Old 10-09-2006, 11:11 PM
Matts00GT
4th Gear Member

There are in some states. Call the local PD and see what they say about noise ordinances. It really varies from cop to cop though. If they're an *******, they'll pull you over even if you arent breaking the law.
Old 10-09-2006, 11:17 PM
CobraStangGT16
5th Gear Member

I know in California there isn't a noise ordininance. But there is definatley a a law against exhibiotion of speed. Such as revving or quick launches. I doubt a Mustang can get loud enough to get pulled over. DMV should know for sure. Heck, my dad's Shelby Cobra is loud as hell and we never get pulled over?

Old 10-09-2006, 11:43 PM
StickShifty
5th Gear Member

most ares just LM1s are good enough if a cop really wants to.
Old 10-09-2006, 11:45 PM
stangc83
3rd Gear Member

My wife had my old 97 GT in California, with a BBK X with no cats and flowmaster 40 series and full bolt on with tune. She got puled over in an AMPM parking lot while she was getting gas for the car being too loud. The only reason she got out of the ticket was because my plates were from North Carolina and it had an up to date inspection sticker. So the cop couldn't to anything.