4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Newbie that needs some opinions

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2006, 09:00 PM
Outlaw GT

Default Newbie that needs some opinions

What up all!!! I finaly got myself in a 2001 Mustang GT convertible in an automatic and I'm in dire need of some help in the performance department. Since I'm new to the mustang game, where would be a good place to start? What did you all do to your stangs in the beginning that wasn't too much of a dent to your pockets or what was the thing that gave you the mst bang for your buck. Also too, I know I have an auto, but what am I looking at if I wanted to go with some type of forced induction? Supercharger or turbo? Do they even make a turbo kit for an auto?

I know that was a lot to swallow in for of questions but I'm a newb and don't know when to shut my mouth. Anyway any help is much appreciated.

Thanks
Old 10-31-2006, 09:01 PM
built54
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie that needs some opinions

A sct tuner would be good, raise and firm your shifts, a little more power, and its not that expensive.
Old 10-31-2006, 09:06 PM
lizzyfan
Underboss

ORIGINAL: built54

A sct tuner would be good, raise and firm your shifts, a little more power, and its not that expensive.
Do that and gears, 4:10's with an auto
Old 10-31-2006, 09:19 PM
mikev08826
I ♥ Acer

ORIGINAL: lizzyfan

ORIGINAL: built54

Do that and gears, 4:10's with an auto
+1 on the gears. Don't expect anything special out of the little mods though. CAI is worthless, exhaust makes it sound cool, but performance gains are questionable. Gear install prices vary a lot too. Make a LOT of calls and get a LOT of prices. Your best bet would be to have it done at a speed shop.
Old 10-31-2006, 09:25 PM
03sixbanger
Ryan's Backup Mod

[sm=nxsmile.gif]
Old 10-31-2006, 09:30 PM
meyerj88
2nd Gear Member