MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang (https://mustangforums.com/forum/4-6l-1996-2004-modular-mustang-7/)
-   -   New Clutch 98gt need advice (https://mustangforums.com/forum/4-6l-1996-2004-modular-mustang/20485-new-clutch-98gt-need-advice.html)

skiingsean 08-16-2004 07:35 PM

New Clutch 98gt need advice

I just found out that my problem which I thought was my clutch not disengaging turns out to be my throwout bearing went to sh!t and ate my pressure plate. So I am looking at a new clutch assembly. Being a college student I will most likely have to do this myself. My question is this, what clutch. AND I know there are other posts on this however, today the tranny shop (reliable) told me that they have seen problems with fitting my model and year car with high perf. clutch's, they even said the owner has a 98gt and ran into problems, in that the clutch sys. can be <not> smooth, grinding etc. They recommend an OEM equivelent part. What do you guys suggest and has anyone else ever heard problems of this nature, and what clutch's do you all recommend :).

Thanks in advance

Sean

skiingsean 08-16-2004 07:55 PM

RE: New Clutch 98gt need advice

BTW, I am pretty mechanically inclined, however, this will be my <first> clutch job, following the correct instructions and through some common sense how hard of a job does this tend to be.

Thanks again

Stangfreak2002 08-16-2004 09:50 PM

The same sh?t happened to me on my jeep tj and it turned out to be the transmission so check it well !!

S_man_9 08-16-2004 10:30 PM

Id go with a SPEC clutch. Never heard of the problem u told me

Casper98GT 08-16-2004 11:21 PM