4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Need a lot of help pls!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2004, 05:20 AM
moist

Default Need a lot of help pls!!!

Well after wrecking my 96 eclpise, I went out and bought a 2003 GT. I am very happy with it and the difference between the GT and the eclipse is night and day. Since i had a crappy car before i never thought of doing anything to the engine but would like to do start doing stuff to my GT. Anyways I have 0 experience in this department and have no idea where to start. I want to get the max performance out of my car, without going to crazy. I think bolt on type items is where I will be starting.

Is there a specific order that I should go in? I read that I should start with my exhaust first but I have no experience with the brands out there, and again I really have no idea what I'm doing. I really do not care to much about the sound, I wan't the best bang for my buck in terms of performance gain. If the car sounds great but gets smoked by a civic whats the point? I do enjoy the sound dont get my wrong but I want to concentrate on performence.

I only have heard of 2 other things, cold air intake, and headers. Should these two mods come next?

If anyone could not only help me with what order I should go in, but also tell me about brands that would be great, because if you tell me to next get a cold air intake, I will have no idea which one to buy. I want to be able to add something every few months, since I don't have a ton of extra cash laying around. I was reading around the forums today and a lot of the other posts are a little too technical for me, I'm sorry I am totaly new at this, but am trying to learn as much as I can. If anyone knows of some good informational sites around the net could you please post that here too.

Sorry for being a noob, but I had to start somewhere, and you guys seem to know what your talkin about