4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

looking at buying a mach 1

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2006, 03:25 PM
kscubb

Default looking at buying a mach 1

i have found a 03 mach 1 for sale around the corner from me. it seems in good shape. but there are a few things. i'm kinda new to thge whole mustang thing and i have a few questions. the car seems pretty stock, no intake or exhaust. it does have sub-frame connectors and i think that its a steeda shifter. i test drove the car and it seems to run fine. the only thing is that it will grind second gear. I'm pretty sure its not just the way i drive. the clutch seems fine, no slipping or anything. but it kinda worries me. is it just an adjustment that needs to be made or am i looking at possibly replacing the gear box? any help would be appreciated. the car only has nine thousand miles on it , so i am really interested in it

Old 12-23-2006, 03:30 PM
AJ06GT
5th Gear Member

Default RE: looking at buying a mach 1

If it has a Steeda Tri-Ax shifter, then be aware that that shifter is pretty notchy, so if you're new to it you might want to make sure you have it all the way as far as it can go in gear. It is possible that the shift stops are in too far and that's causing it to grind, if that's the case, they can be backed out a little, but I'd be worry about damage that's been caused so far with the owner driving it like that. If you are sure that it's not your driving, ask him and see what he says about it. If he says it's been there since he installed the shifter, then he probably screwed up the shift stops. Ask how long the shifter has been on there and if it's been a while, meaning he's been griding for a while, then I'd be a little worried about buying that car.
Old 12-23-2006, 03:31 PM
hotrod7687
3rd Gear Member