cobra engine - Page 2 - MustangForums.com

Notices
4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

cobra engine

Reply

 
 
 
Old 02-04-2007, 03:31 PM
  #11  
97Cobra_kid
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 148
Default RE: cobra engine

If your looking for a new cobra engine, your looking about around 5,000. I just put a brand new cobra engine in mine, and they aren't so easy to find. I had to order mine from California, and it took like 2 months to come in.
97Cobra_kid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 08:50 PM
  #12  
fear itself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 26
Default RE: cobra engine

midnightsnake83: i will post how much it is on tuesday night or wednesday morning when i go back to work. and once again thanks everyone for the help
fear itself is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 09:02 PM
  #13  
LetThePoniesRunFree
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 641
Default RE: cobra engine

You can still get the 4V Cobra motor from Ford.

http://www.fordracingparts.com/crate...dularcobra.asp
LetThePoniesRunFree is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 09:11 PM
  #14  
xxkazp3rxx
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,893
Default RE: cobra engine

That's the mach 1 motor... it is different then the 96-98 and 99/01' Cobras and the 03/04 Cobras...

You can find them actually on ebay... lol for around 5k including s/c... or you could always build a better motor at a shop..

ORIGINAL: LetThePoniesRunFree

You can still get the 4V Cobra motor from Ford.

http://www.fordracingparts.com/crate...dularcobra.asp
xxkazp3rxx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:33 PM
  #15  
REDSTALION
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 345
Default RE: cobra engine

When u swap them dont u need a COBRA ecm and wiring too???
REDSTALION is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:36 PM
  #16  
uberstang1
Chupacabra
 
uberstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: wilkes-barre PA
Posts: 9,615
Default RE: cobra engine

When u swap them dont u need a COBRA ecm and wiring too???

_____________________________
Yes you do, altough you can run the car off the gt computer and the car will run without issues the only problem is it will still only put down 190hp at the wheels because the gt computer will not open the IMRC on the cobra intake which means ur power is pretty much falling flat on its face at around 3k rpms. When i first did my swap i ran it with the cobra harness and gt computer for a few months till i got tuned.
uberstang1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:39 PM
  #17  
REDSTALION
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 345
Default RE: cobra engine

ORIGINAL: uberstang1

When u swap them dont u need a COBRA ecm and wiring too???

_____________________________
Yes you do, altough you can run the car off the gt computer and the car will run without issues the only problem is it will still only put down 190hp at the wheels because the gt computer will not open the IMRC on the cobra intake which means ur power is pretty much falling flat on its face at around 3k rpms. When i first did my swap i ran it with the cobra harness and gt computer for a few months till i got tuned.
so u change it or u only tuned the GT one only?
REDSTALION is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:41 PM
  #18  
uberstang1
Chupacabra
 
uberstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: wilkes-barre PA
Posts: 9,615
Default RE: cobra engine

just tuned the gt computer, the coputers are the same just different programs from ford, i have a 96 cobra ecu for sale if anyone wants it
uberstang1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:45 PM
  #19  
REDSTALION
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 345
Default RE: cobra engine

aha.....

one more Q, might be stupid to ask, would a L/T headers for GT fit the COBRA?
REDSTALION is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:49 PM
  #20  
uberstang1
Chupacabra
 
uberstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: wilkes-barre PA
Posts: 9,615
Default RE: cobra engine

aha.....

one more Q, might be stupid to ask, would a L/T headers for GT fit the COBRA?
no the exhaust ports are different
uberstang1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: cobra engine


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.