Mach audio uprades:what can be done - MustangForums.com


4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2007, 04:39 PM   #1  
Armydad
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Armydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 621
Default Mach audio uprades:what can be done

Hi all,

I know the head unit can be changed wiyh that metra harness, but can the speakers be upgraded as well. I was told by an installer that it would have to be re-wired. I want to keep the amps,just upgrade speakers and head.

Thanks
Armydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 04:41 PM   #2  
bransdaman78
I ♥ Acer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,394
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

yea u can pop in new speakers - but the head unit alone will make an unbelievable difference
bransdaman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 05:51 PM   #3  
juiced99snake
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 20
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

And for the record, Sitting there splicing 50 damn wires comming in and out of a factory amp converter box on top of the power and other wires u need to connect takes a lil while.... so be patient ive had mach on all 3 of my last mustangs and it seems to take a while every time[8D]
juiced99snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 06:36 PM   #4  
redgt2000
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: madison wisconsin
Posts: 246
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

im changing my head unit soon to a 7 inch pop out screen what is this metra harness you speak of???? i havent checked into whats needed to swap it out, so all you need is some harness? i was worried for a while that i wouldnt even be able to swap head units cause of the mach system.
redgt2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 07:27 PM   #5  
Armydad
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Armydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 621
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

Why will I have to splice wires? I thoght the metra harness made everything connect

Quote:
ORIGINAL: juiced99snake

And for the record, Sitting there splicing 50 damn wires comming in and out of a factory amp converter box on top of the power and other wires u need to connect takes a lil while.... so be patient ive had mach on all 3 of my last mustangs and it seems to take a while every time[8D]
Armydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 07:57 PM   #6  
96GT226410
CSMG Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,503
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

I'v heard it's easier to take all of the speakers, amps, and the deck out and start with new and just rewire everything.
96GT226410 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Somerset, KY 1BAD3V Tennessee Regional Chapter 2 10-06-2016 12:12 PM
Rear Package Shelf jrrhd73must Classic Mustang General Discussion 2 10-02-2015 09:17 PM
04 Mach 460 system, Installed Aftermarket HU, No Highs/Tweeters breaking Audio/Visual Electronics 5 10-02-2015 01:27 PM
Speakers Sixer4Life Audio/Visual Electronics 2 09-29-2015 07:03 PM
Somerset, KY 1BAD3V Indiana Regional Section 0 09-26-2015 09:03 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.