Mach audio uprades:what can be done - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang
Reload this Page >

Mach audio uprades:what can be done

4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Mach audio uprades:what can be done

Reply

 
 
 
Old 03-03-2007, 04:39 PM
  #1  
Armydad
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Armydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 621
Default Mach audio uprades:what can be done

Hi all,

I know the head unit can be changed wiyh that metra harness, but can the speakers be upgraded as well. I was told by an installer that it would have to be re-wired. I want to keep the amps,just upgrade speakers and head.

Thanks
Armydad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 04:41 PM
  #2  
bransdaman78
I ♥ Acer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,394
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

yea u can pop in new speakers - but the head unit alone will make an unbelievable difference
bransdaman78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 05:51 PM
  #3  
juiced99snake
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 20
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

And for the record, Sitting there splicing 50 damn wires comming in and out of a factory amp converter box on top of the power and other wires u need to connect takes a lil while.... so be patient ive had mach on all 3 of my last mustangs and it seems to take a while every time[8D]
juiced99snake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 06:36 PM
  #4  
redgt2000
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: madison wisconsin
Posts: 246
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

im changing my head unit soon to a 7 inch pop out screen what is this metra harness you speak of???? i havent checked into whats needed to swap it out, so all you need is some harness? i was worried for a while that i wouldnt even be able to swap head units cause of the mach system.
redgt2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 07:27 PM
  #5  
Armydad
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Armydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 621
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

Why will I have to splice wires? I thoght the metra harness made everything connect

ORIGINAL: juiced99snake

And for the record, Sitting there splicing 50 damn wires comming in and out of a factory amp converter box on top of the power and other wires u need to connect takes a lil while.... so be patient ive had mach on all 3 of my last mustangs and it seems to take a while every time[8D]
Armydad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 07:57 PM
  #6  
96GT226410
CSMG Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,503
Default RE: Mach audio uprades:what can be done

I'v heard it's easier to take all of the speakers, amps, and the deck out and start with new and just rewire everything.
96GT226410 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
1BAD3V
Tennessee Regional Chapter
2
10-06-2016 12:12 PM
jrrhd73must
Classic Mustang General Discussion
2
10-02-2015 09:17 PM
breaking
Audio/Visual Electronics
5
10-02-2015 01:27 PM
Sixer4Life
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
09-29-2015 07:03 PM
1BAD3V
Indiana Regional Section
0
09-26-2015 09:03 AM

Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory