4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

rev limiter

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2007, 12:45 PM
salvatore
1st Gear Member

Default rev limiter

hello everyone newbie here with dumb ?. I recently bought a 2001 yellow gt. Currently i have 17K miles on it and is a 5 speed tranny. My question is about the rev limiter. Is there supposted to be one stock? I reved into redline the other day with no restictions and was wondering why? All i was told was it has minor work done to it. BBk throttle body and plenum. BBk intake,flowmaster catback. I was never told about a cam or anything either and someone riding with me the other day said it sounds like it has a cam. I do notice a big increase in hp/tq at 3K on the tach, huge difference i should say. When it hits 3 grand wot its time to shift because as soon as you see 3 it jumps right to red.

Please anyone jump in and help me all is appreciated.
p.s. it has a saleen kit but no saleen badges
Old 03-14-2007, 12:50 PM
Fizzics Boy
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: rev limiter

the 4.6 makes its power up in the revs, and in the lower gears (1, 2, and 3)it does rev quick above 3k rpms. the rev limited isnt set right at the redline, its a little bit into it. i forget what its set at, but i wanna say a tad over 6k rpms. as for it having cams, you would definitly be able to tell just by the way it idles. if it has an aggresive idle, chances are you have a cam upgrade.
Old 03-14-2007, 01:00 PM
tool fan
2nd Gear Member

Yeah...... try to stay out of that "red" area. Not really good for the engine.
Old 03-14-2007, 01:10 PM
salvatore
1st Gear Member