4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

HELP PLEASE!!

Old 03-21-2007, 04:32 PM
airborne22
2nd Gear Member

Default HELP PLEASE!!

I can't seem to get one of my lt bolts threaded onto my driver side head! If I don't put it on will my exhaust leak??? Or does anyone have any ideas of how to fix this? Thanks
Old 03-21-2007, 05:11 PM
airborne22
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: HELP PLEASE!!

come on I know someone here knows!
Old 03-21-2007, 05:17 PM
Davojan59
4th Gear Member

im pretty sure it will leak but im no expert....see man i wish people would give more help with some replies to technical posts like this one but its very sad that people with neon and body kit questions get like 3 pages of replies about the same garbage, and people that really need help cant get it...makes me wanna go to another mustang forum....i feel ur pain man i didnt get many replies either.
Old 03-21-2007, 05:21 PM
SmallFeesh
3rd Gear Member

What exactley do you mean you cant get it threaded? Are the threads bad? Is it to tight to get in there with the wratchet? And yes... you will probably have an exaust leak!
Old 03-21-2007, 05:22 PM
kecclest
2nd Gear Member

It sounds like you aren't lining up correctly...You might need to separate the header tubes a bit to get the bolt to line up... I didn't have this problem, but I have seen a tool that you can use that will separate the tubes to bend the flange just enough to line up the holes correctly. If it isn't that, and you and the bolt goes in but doesn't tighten, you musta stripped the hole(probably unlikely), if that is the case, you will need to rethread the hole and upgrade to a larger diameter bolt.
Sorry I can't help more.
Old 03-21-2007, 06:05 PM
airborne22
2nd Gear Member

thanks guys yea i dont know.... i starts to thread and then just comes back out.... beats me just tried moving to the egr tube (not any luck there either....)

Old 03-21-2007, 07:00 PM
clarehills