4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Tuner / CAI questions please enlighten me!

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2007, 03:23 AM
skaarew
1st Gear Member

Default Tuner / CAI questions please enlighten me!

alright guys as you probably know i am new to this mustang modding. after having my 02 GT now for one week, I just completed the install today on my Magnaflow Magnapacks! Very happy with the sound, and really really happy my GT doesnt sound like a Hyundai Sonata anymore

So now I want a CAI (looking at AEM brute force/dryflow kit) and a diablo tuner.

I have a few questions....
1. CAI do not cause any issues w.r.t. CELs, etc on the mustangs do they?
2. Is the canned tune that comes on the diablo any good? Would this tune work well with just a CAI and a catback exhaust?Would like to run 93 octane.

I am coming from a world (superchips on my truck) that only has a canned tune, no custom tuning available. I keep reading about how the diablo can be tuned this way and that way......do you guys email tunes to each other....what are good settings for just a CAI and catback?

Sorry for all the questions.....just trying to learn here!
Old 03-26-2007, 03:37 AM
skaarew
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Tuner / CAI questions please enlighten me!

edit
Old 03-26-2007, 03:52 AM
lVlustang
3rd Gear Member

CEL will "NOT" turn on if you put a CAI on. I would go to your local tuning shop, because some of them only use a certain tuner. Like the one by my house uses Predator chips.
Old 03-26-2007, 04:53 AM
HOLLYWOOD99
2nd Gear Member

The canned tune is ok, but the predator itself offers so much tweakability. and as far as a CAI make shure it pulls from the fenderwell like factory. (the motor prefers cooler air)

Old 03-26-2007, 05:01 AM
2000GT4.6
6th Gear Member