4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

So what should I do first?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2007, 10:58 AM
Wagnbat

Default So what should I do first?

Well, for my background, see the new members forum (the hello from guam thread) and you can read a bit of my history and why I'm now a mustang GT owner.

Aside from that, I'm curious what the best first steps are... I'm thinking a CAI for sure, but which one? I live in a hot humid sub-tropical enviornment, and I've never owned a sporty V8 before... I have some experience with mods on my other car, and on that one as well a CAI is the commonly acknowledged best starting point. Any recommended CAI's for any reason?

Also, what's the best next step for a bone stock GT which will not be tracked... But would still like a healthy boost in streetable power...
Old 06-05-2007, 11:12 AM
xcodegt
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: So what should I do first?

If you have the money, skip the CAI and get longtube headers. CAI's really don't add that much. If you do get a CAI, JLT and C&L are good selections. DO NOT get a kit that has chrome tubes. Those are worse than the stock pieces due to heat-soak. If you remove the air silencer, it will have the same effect as a CAI kit, but will save you some money
Old 06-05-2007, 11:20 AM
Wagnbat

What are long tube headers? Do they have cats, or does that go after the headers? I've not figured all that out yet. On my other car, you have the headers with a built in cat, and then the catback... But it seems with the GT there's 3 pieces, ya? The headers, the H pipe (cats?), and the catback?
Old 06-05-2007, 11:37 AM
xcodegt
3rd Gear Member

There are 3 pieces: the heades, the midpipe (which has/doesn't have the cats), and the cat-back.