4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

More Belt Problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2007, 02:27 AM
1BadSonicBlue02GT
4th Gear Member

Default More Belt Problems

ok well i've pretty much settled with the fact that my belt just isnt gonna grab like i want or likeit needs to. So anyway what are my different options for fixing this problem. How do i convert it to a 8 or ten rib setup or whatever. And where do i find the pulleys for this? Is it very expensive?

By the way i have a 3' pulley on my blower and i dunno if i can make a 6 rib work. maybe i just got a cheesy belt. Its only auto zone quality and yes i changed it after swapping the blower pulley and the belt fits good but under a load it slips!
Old 07-03-2007, 02:46 AM
TheMustangLoveR
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: More Belt Problems

Damn man, I'm still a novice in the supercharger scene, but I know that that definitely should not be happening in your application. Here's what I would do...and, note: Do this at your own risk!!

Pop the hood and have someone rev the car to high rpm's. At these high rpm's take a look at the belt tensioner and see if it is skipping around, instead of staying put like it should. The tensioner may be your problem. Now, this test may be completely inconclusive because I would think there would be a big difference between running the engine at high rpm under load, and not under load (in the case of dry revving with the car not moving, it obviously isn't under load so you may still not see the tensioner jumping). If you see that happening, then replace the tensioner.

Hell, I would replace the tensioner regardless, just to rule that out.

I would also try to obtain a belt from Novi.

If you're still having problems...well...that would be just plain ridiculous, but I suppose you indeed could switch to an 8-rib+ set-up.
Old 07-03-2007, 09:26 AM
1BadSonicBlue02GT
4th Gear Member