4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

I'm changing my own clutch, cause I'm out of money.

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2007, 12:49 PM
2000 Ragstang

Default I'm changing my own clutch, cause I'm out of money.

Ok, I think I can handle this mechanically but I've never tried it before. I have the Hayes manual and can follow directions fairly well, except for the one about have this job done by a professional.....Of course I don't have a lift only jack stands. So, my question is how far does the car have to be off the ground to get the tranny out. I would hate block the engine up and get everything loose only to find I have to put it back together just to raise the car up more than my jack stands reach. Also if you have any tips and tricks, I'm a good listener too! You know what sucks... I had the new gears installed, (4.10's) It took the guy a week and the moment I started the car when I picked it up the throw out bearing when balistic. Its that a sign or what!!!!
Old 09-15-2007, 01:52 PM
97gtmt

Default RE: I'm changing my own clutch, cause I'm out of money.

I just finnished a my 1st clutch job last weekend.

I used ramps with about 4inches of wood on top of the ramps(ramps on all 4 wheels) and I still had to slide my tranny out on a sheet of carpet. Putting it on a jack under the car took some brut *** force. As a former defensive end, I found that once the tranny was under the car slide a jack stand next to it, grab the rear of the tranny,slide urself under it, bench press bellhousing end on to stand, slide stand w/tranny under exact spot, crawl out, grab jack and wallla ur set.