Overheating and a leak?? - MustangForums.com

4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Overheating and a leak??

Old 11-01-2007, 03:08 AM
geo1400

Default Overheating and a leak??

Hi guys, i'm new to the mustang and the forum!!

I bought a '98 mustang GT a week ago and already had a couple of problems. I'll explain below and see if you can help. I'm quite handy around a car so not scared to tackle a prob myself. The only thing is I have NO tools having just moved to Dubai!! Anyway, see what you think.

1) Noticed a leak coming from the front (radiator area) of the car. It's a red liquid. I thought Power steering fluid but it isn't that because I am not losing any. It only leaks when the engine is running. If it helps, it's a lighter red than PAS fluid and smells different, almost Fruity???

2) 1 day later, A/C starts blowing hot at standstill - cold when moving.

3) Soon after that, in traffic, temp needle starts rising and before I know i've lost all my water out the radiator and steem coming from the expansion tank.

4) Let it cool for a bit, fill it back up with water and NO water leaks. Run the engine for a little and still no water leaks but still red fluid leaking.

I hope I havn't goe overboard with that description, but I though i'd be as specific as possible.

Any help appreciated!!

Thank you, Geo1400
Old 11-01-2007, 03:22 AM
Zanador
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Overheating and a leak??

Is it an auto? Sounds like tranny fluid leaking by the tranny cooler.
Old 11-01-2007, 03:52 AM
fyouceeku
1st Gear Member

Put some guages on that A/C system. I'm betting your freon is low.
Old 11-01-2007, 09:15 AM
geo1400

Yes it is an auto and where is the tranny cooler so I can check that out? I really don't want to drive it then cause i've lost a lot of red fluid!!

And, what are freons? and why do you think they'll be low?? is it related to the leak or just the hot A/C?

Thanks guys!!

Geo1400