4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Ticking Noise, Not Chain Tensioner and various other problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2008, 03:59 PM
cdumont1

Default Ticking Noise, Not Chain Tensioner and various other problems

I'm new to this forum and couldn't find any information that pertained to this problem I am having. I bought a 1999 Mustang GT automatic about 6,000 miles ago and i currently has 68,000 miles. In the last 2,000 miles there has been a ticking noise that has progressivly gotten worse and sounds like it is coming from the valves or somewhere under the intake manifold. The tick also accelerates with acceleration in the engine. I was wondering what the proper procedure would be for finding the the source of the tick and for fixing the problem? or any ideas on what it might be? I am a college student without much money so I dont want to take it into the shop, but I have a Haynes Repair Manual and I am pretty confident.

Other issues that I am having:
1. RPMs sometimes surge with throttle held constant (usually between 1500-2000 rpm in 2nd or 3rd on an automatic)
2. Then the engine seems to-I am referencing the Repair manual when I say this-ping or knock when engine is under load.
3. In Neutral, the engine accelrates smoothly up to 2000, then shakes a decent amount, and disappears after about 2100. Is this normal?

From reading the Repair Manual on possible causes of 1 and 2, the common cause seems so be "Fuel Injection or engine control systems malfunction." For 1, a possible source seems to be a vaccuum leak at intake manifold or vaccuum hoses, since many of the hoses seem a bit cracked. Another possible source for 1 could be "fuel pump or pressure regulator defective" since I have not replaced the fuel filter yet. As far as 2, it seems like it could be incorrect spark plugs. All of this i get as possiblities from the Repair Manual.

At little background on the car.