4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

How much can a used '03 GT take?

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2008, 11:23 PM
mst3k

Default How much can a used '03 GT take?

Hi folks,

Total newbie here, who recently purchased a used 2003 Mustang GT. Forgive me as I try to catch up!

The car is in great condition, and has 99K miles. Bought it from its original owner, a 45 year old woman, a machinist who knew her stuff and always performed the scheduled maintenances, who drove it to and from work and took beautiful care of it. Both the inside and outside are like new (I hope to have photos soon). All of the people we've had look at the car say the engine is in great shape, and that it's clear she definitely "babied" it.

Anywho, now I'm in possession of it, and I've got a pretty simple question: assuming all of this is true, and those 98K miles weren't 98K miles of torture, how much of a beating can this car take? I've had it since Friday, but only only got a chance to take it on open road today. I've found some stretches of interstate in Virginia where I live and floored it (like, literally) maybe a dozen times for a couple seconds at a clip, always doing at least 30 at the start, just to have some fun. Well afterward, I got to thinking that the last thing I want to do is wreck the engine.

I'd be totally bummed if I was in possession of a Mustang I couldn't hit the pedal now and then, but I don't want to blow it either. As a side question, what would be the first thing to go in such a situation, and how much would it cost to fix? Oh, PS, it's an automatic transmission.
Old 05-27-2008, 12:54 AM
Shawn02GT
4th Gear Member

Default RE: How much can a used '03 GT take?

there is only one way to find out...
Old 05-27-2008, 09:20 AM
Mustang_NTriangle
5th Gear Member

drive it like you stole it or don't drive it at all....
Old 05-27-2008, 09:32 AM
jwarner0297
4th Gear Member