4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Please explain Flowmaster "drone"

Old 09-04-2008, 12:58 PM
orange1997GT
1st Gear Member

Default Please explain Flowmaster "drone"

People on here are always mocking "rustmasters" lol for their drone at highway speeds. I have a flowmaster cat-back and a BBK o/r x pipe. I love the sound. What are they talking about with "drone"? In person I've heard SLP LM1's(on a 94 GT), Magnaflow(86 Z28), Borla(99 GT), and Dynomax(88 Trans Am). The Flowmaster sound to me sounds the best! The SLP is really raspy, but I do like the exhaust tips, they're really big and chrome. I just wish that the Flowmaster cat-back for the 94-98's had bigger exhaust tips!
Old 09-04-2008, 01:16 PM
BraMas
5th Gear Member

You notice more when your cruising on highways. It's around 2200 RPM's could be different on other cars but usually above 2000. It's an annoying humming sound . Only option is to speed up (speeding) Down shift (burn more gas) or turn up the radio and not talk to anyone in the car with you
Old 09-04-2008, 01:28 PM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

The previous owner of my '03 had welded in Flowmaster 40s, at 2100 to 2200 rpm with the windows up it was nearly painfull.

It's a harmonic reinforcement relationship between the frequency of the exhaust pulses (around 140Hz at 2150 rpm), muffler placement relative to the cabin, and the cabin volume/size that can really get cooking...

I now have a UPR catted X-pipe and Magnaflow catback. The cabin noise peaks a bit at 2100-2200 rpm, but it's not as overwhelming as the welded in Flows...
Old 09-04-2008, 01:34 PM
jwarner0297
4th Gear Member

I don't have that problem with mine, to me its at about 1800-1900 rpms. although some versions of the 40s are different
Old 09-04-2008, 01:40 PM
steve0914
5th Gear Member