4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Strange NO-Start dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2008, 03:55 PM
SilverBullet98

Default Strange NO-Start dilemma

Hey everyone. im a newb to the forum. and a proud owner of a 98 GT. But it has a slight problem..maybe kinda long explanation..i will tell you by no means am i a newb to cars, im an ASE tech and this has me stumped

so when i went to go look at the car, start it, drive it. it started up fine everytime. purred like a kitten(or small lion). got done talking to the salesman about everything we decide on a price and bam done deal. so it gets STARTED and driven down the street where the final paperwork was done. from there it went to the wash bay to get cleaned. whenever i got done with all the paperwork..it WOULDNT START. and i thought "maybe they got somethin wet when spraying the engine" that was NOT the case. the engine was dry and the salesman said that it was very weird it doing this because it has ALWAYS started before this. so he said that they would take care of it in the morning, so i said ok and left

Next day...he gives me a call and said that the car fired right up in the morning like nothing ever happened..puzzled...i took delivery of it anyways(if it aint broke cant fix it)

Now after having the car a month..it started EVERY single day and ran fine with no issues...i drove it to my old town (90 miles) and it did it again there!! i tried starting it and then it just chugged down and died!!! wtf??? so i started to diag the fuel system thinking it was a fuel pump. and quickly learned the pump was not being turned on for some reason. the "relay" clicked so power was being transmitted. i then traced the problem to the CCRM(constant control relay module, lol i dropped the box and it started. go figure) so i replace the box and of course it starts right up. runs fine everyday until...