4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Fuel filler neck leaking like crazy on an '01 GT

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2008, 01:03 PM
Azure
2nd Gear Member

Default Fuel filler neck leaking like crazy on an '01 GT

The title says it all. A few weeks ago I noticed some fluid dripping from under my car when I filled up. It was gas, dripping all over the exhaust. Since I noticed it I've tried patching the neck to no avail - the leak has only gotten worse and I can only put 1-2gal in it at a time without putting a dangerous amount of gas on the ground.

I took it to the dealer today and they wanted FOUR HUNDRED for a new filler neck assembly. I am a poor college student and I can't swing it right now. So, has anyone had a similar problem?

I have tried patching the neck with epoxy putty from Sears but the leak seems to be at the very top of the neck, inside the rubber boot that connects the neck to the filler cap. There is a loose edge of the boot that lets excess gas drip down. I don't want to seal the boot closed for fear of it just filling up and forming a pocket of gas. Right now my mission is to get inside the boot, find the leak, and patch it with the aforementioned putty.

Can anyone offer any advice? Should I cut open the boot to get to the inside of the filler assembly, or is there another way I can do it?

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-30-2008, 02:54 PM
Evenexchange
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Azure
The title says it all. A few weeks ago I noticed some fluid dripping from under my car when I filled up. It was gas, dripping all over the exhaust. Since I noticed it I've tried patching the neck to no avail - the leak has only gotten worse and I can only put 1-2gal in it at a time without putting a dangerous amount of gas on the ground.