4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Check Engine - P0340 Cam Sensor

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2009, 12:08 AM
foned

Exclamation Check Engine - P0340 Cam Sensor

First i will say i have very little experience and knowledge in regards to cars in general, im not exactly mechanically inclined.

I have a 2001 Mustang GT, about 8 months ago i had my mechanic at work replace my plugs and boots on my car, I can't remember exactly but a short time after my check engine light came on, and i noticed that when i went to start my car it failed repeatedly, it would start to turn over and die, sometimes it had a sound similar to a small backfire, or sort of like a loud pop, sometimes it would just lug hard and then start. I had my mechanic at work check it out, he said the cam sensor was bad, he replaced it, the light came back on, he looked at it again and basically told me he didn't know what was wrong, that it could be a wiring problem, or computer problem etc. since then i haven't done much about it, i didnt know what to do exactly, and lack the funds to have anyone check into it. but now im being forced, i need to smog my car and with the check engine light on it wont pass.

Through my research i found it could be a problem with the alternator, i took it off and had it tested at auto zone (it was kind of janky the way they tested it, but it tested twice and failed twice) so i replaced the alternator and nothing changed. I had the cam sensor scoped, and was told it was functioning. Now im basically at a loss, except for taking it to a dealership and paying 100+ to have a diagnostic done, and who knows how much they are going to want me to do.

other things -

I cleaned my KNN out and re-oiled it today
I have a vacuum tube on top of my engine that appears to have a hole in it that im going to replace tomorrow