4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

A/C for Dummies!

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2009, 05:15 PM
Buckwild

Default A/C for Dummies!

Okay guys...I have searched the forums and not been able to find a good fit to my problem...I need some expert advice! I am having problems with my A/C and I live in Florida (and it's HOT!)...

A few weeks ago, my a/c started blowing warm....I get a bottle of R134...it has it's own gage and hose...seems like a pretty easy job (am I am NOT a Mechanic by any stretch of the imagination)....today, my dad and I go out and hook up the bottle (the car has been warmed up, the A/C is on (blowing warm, outside temp. air)..owners manual open, and a hot towel just in case.....

We hook up the bottle and the gage goes from just past 0 (zero) to almost 50...in sync with the compressor, which is cycling on and off every few seconds!

We gave it a little shot of R134, but the same thing...high to low pressure, warm air blowing...we decided to seek help before going any farther!

Like I said, the compressor is cycling every few seconds....why would it do this? We hooked the bottle to the low side so we should get a good reading, but the gage would read high and then low again.....

Anybody out there know what the heck it going on?

Thanks in advance!

Dan
Old 07-05-2009, 05:59 PM
jvog
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Buckwild
Okay guys...I have searched the forums and not been able to find a good fit to my problem...I need some expert advice! I am having problems with my A/C and I live in Florida (and it's HOT!)...