4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

5.4L 4V Swap FAQ's

Old 08-16-2010, 08:53 PM
jgrimm

Default 5.4L 4V Swap FAQ's

Well, It seems as if much of the tech info on this swap has been lost due to forum revamps, is somehow buried in pages and pages of search results, or is scattered in pieces all across the web. What to do? Begin to build a thread with as much info as I can find on the engines for people wanting a 5.4 in their SN-95, just like myself. I am not a certified mechanic, but I am a DIY auto enthusiast with a fair amount of shop time under my belt just like many of you on this forum, so I am not inexperienced, but hey, we are always learning and this has been a huge learning experience filled with many hours of reading and searching. So enough said! Let’s get down to the fun part!

NOTE: Please, please, PLEASE, read my entire post and subsequent posts by members underneath this one before you ask any questions as I am writing to eliminate the same questions being asked over and over. Thanks!

Why swap in a 5.4L out of the Navigator?

-1. More cubes without the extreme internal angles and high piston speeds associated with the 4.6L stroker kits.

-2. They are about the same price as the 4V 4.6L engines, though slightly more expensive to build.

-3. They are a 4V motor which means they breathe well enough to handle boost fairly well (with correct tuning and internals)

-4. They don't weigh much more than their smaller counterpart; the 4.6L.

-5. Many of the engines have been driven easily (not raced or used up) due to their native environment/vehicle they call home here in the USA; the 1999-2004 Lincoln Navigator.

-6. More Cubes for the money! Size matters boys... Size matters... (Whats a good post without humor?)

-7. Ford chose to power the Cobra-R with this engine for a reason.