4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Shift interlock solenoid issue?

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2011, 11:18 PM
My96Stang29

Default Shift interlock solenoid issue?

OK I am totally new to this posting this but I need your... my brothers and sisters with mustangs....help.

I own a 1996 Mustang GT 4.6 Automatic trans.
I can not get it out of park. I have read several forums before, not sure if it was from this site or not but my issue does not seem to fall with the same characteristics as others I have read.
I have tried putting it into gear after starting the can, I have tried to put it into gear before starting the vehicle, key turned part on (engine is not on) I have tried it with the key out, e-brake on, e-brake off, Steering wheel is not locked, brake lights all work. Seems like everything is working but for the life of me I can not figure this out. I have tried getting under the plastic plate where the shifter is but I cant seem to find a release anywhere, no little door to flip open to get to any screw nothing I can see. I dont see any way to manually flip any switch. I am really confused here guys and gals. Help from anyone is much appreciated.

Now on a side note if anyone has heard of this second issue feel free to post on this also. I tried (years ago) to put a cold air intake on this same car and it would constantly foul out O2 sensors. running lean bank 2 I think the code was. Only thing I could think of was that the mass air flow sensor wasnt working correctly (I had to move it because of the cold air kit) to a position different than stock. I am thinking this was the root of the problem but I even took it to a mustang only shop and they didnt know either so I figured I would ask that while I was here as well. Anyway thanks a lot for any help.
Dave
Old 12-31-2014, 07:31 AM
wldgeese

Default Auto trans shift lever issues