4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

01-04 GT or Mach 1?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2005, 04:54 AM
Tunerdude

Default 01-04 GT or Mach 1?

Sup everyone. I am a newbie to mustangs. I currently drive a 67 camaro. But I need a daily driver so I am getting a Stang either GT or Mach. I know the differences between the two models, especially the suspension setups. I know the Mach 1 can be fitted with the twin-screw from kb. However, it seams there are more and better supercharger kits out there for the GT. I havent decided between the cent. and twin-screw superchargers yet, I just dont if I want the twins high TQ right off the line. The GTs usually run about 5k less then a Mach. and it seems I can run the mongoose kits on the GTs. I do plan on building around 450HP on a stock motor, and maybe going to forged internals later. I know a Mach is better stock, but for a long-term build, dollar for dollar, which model can I build easier to achieve 400-450 ponies? I like the Machs. Am I totally insane for saying that the GTs have better supercharger kits out? Please help me decide between the two.

P.S Thanks for all the great info.
Old 09-03-2005, 01:03 PM
ShadowDrake
5th Gear Member

Default RE: 01-04 GT or Mach 1?

Biggest engine difference between the two is that the GT has two valves per cylinder, while the Mach 1 has four. This helps performance a little. A Kenne Bell blower will fit both a GT and a Mach 1 (it would be crazy of them to not make one that fits both, the engines are almost the same, and a larger number of people own a GT vs a Mach 1). In my mind, a twin-screw blower is more on the top end, they are definitely the most expensive.