4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

beginner questions...

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2011, 08:05 PM
Tyler09

Default beginner questions...

alright i just got the mustang last week and i have read alot on here and what not look at alot of post/ pics... but have some questions might be dumb to some but im new to the scene and would like to learn some stuff.

-what is IRS?
-what TB should i do? (going to be a daily driver)
-if i do H&R SS springs do i need camber casting plates?

again if these seem dumb to y'all sorry.
thanks for helping guys.
Old 09-09-2011, 08:50 PM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

IRS = Independent rear suspension
TB = 70mm or 75mm
C&C plates = helpful but not completely necessary
Old 09-09-2011, 08:51 PM
02GTman
3rd Gear Member

Welcome to the Mustang world and the Forum. To answer your questions.

1.) Independent Rear Suspension, this set up came on the 99-01/03-04 Cobras.

2.) I think most of the guys on here run a 70-75 mm TB, either will work just fine.

3.) They say if you go lower than a 1.5 drop with springs you should do caster/camber plates. There's a guy on here who runs H&R's with no plates and has no problems with out them. But it is recommended.

Hope this helps.
Old 09-09-2011, 08:53 PM
02GTman
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by mrtstang
IRS = Independent rear suspension
TB = 70mm or 75mm
C&C plates = helpful but not completely necessary
Sorry mrtstang we must have posted at the same time.
Old 09-09-2011, 09:12 PM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

Haha it's alright, at least we think alike.
Old 09-09-2011, 09:55 PM
Tyler09

thanks for the feed back, so my 98 GT doesnt have IRS.
Old 09-09-2011, 10:06 PM
Rockwell28
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Tyler09
thanks for the feed back, so my 98 GT doesnt have IRS.