4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Cracked Intake manifold/gasket or head gasket in 1998 GT?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2011, 11:04 PM
Am17

Default Cracked Intake manifold/gasket or head gasket in 1998 GT?

So I've only had this car for a month but already I love the thing. A couple of days ago I was replacing the spark plugs and wires and I noticed one of the holes was full of coolant, ugh! Now I'm left wondering whether I have a cracked intake manifold, broken intake gasket or a broken head gasket. I'm hoping it's not the head gasket since I haven't see antifreeze anywhere else. The car though has been leaking a small amount of antifreeze, about a few drops overnight. I know Ford was offering repairs up until last year for cracked intake manifolds so I'm leaning towards that being the problem. Anyone have any better ideas? I'm not very good with cars this being my first and all, still trying to learn!
Old 11-20-2011, 02:08 AM
SchmigShady

my 96 gt is having the same problem but mine is missfiring because of the antifreeze getting the plug wires wet. I'm thinking its the a cracked intake because of it being plastic but i think this one has been replaced because of the thermost housing is aluminuim and i think the ones from the factory are plastic like the rest of the intake. but i'm tearing it apart next weekend to find out for sure.
Old 11-20-2011, 09:08 AM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

99.44% of the time it's a cracked or otherwise failed intake manifold--even the newer one with the aluminum crossover has problems (the OEM unit on my '03 failed last February, with 125k miles or so on it).

Here are a couple of threads describing the usual points of failure, and how people have dealt with them:

Cracked Intake Manifold

Thermostat Housing Leaking
Old 11-20-2011, 10:28 AM
cisurfer
5th Gear Member