4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

N/A vs. F/I

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2012, 12:29 PM
B2norma

Default N/A vs. F/I

I'm still new to the forums and need some help with this topic. I'm confused about why some people stay N/A. Is there any advantages that N/A has over F/I? I don't see how there could be but like I said I'm still new. Also how much horsepower can you get from the 4.6 when staying N/A?
Old 03-09-2012, 12:41 PM
uberstang1
Chupacabra

Depends what kind of motor were talking about.
Old 03-09-2012, 01:18 PM
MCxQubed
5th Gear Member

some people would rather spend 100-400 dollar bursts on bolt ons. Rather than 2 grand at once on a supercharger. Then you have to worry about getting it on, and getting tuned, plus in some cases your risking reliability.

But i think money is the big issue for some people, tbh im in college as a full time student, i worked full time all summer last year and was able to buy my supercharger, all the supporting mods, and pay a shop to install it and tune it. So it can be done, in another thread i mentioned i bought all the parts i needed in a 3-4 month span.
Old 03-09-2012, 01:21 PM
B2norma

Originally Posted by uberstang1
Depends what kind of motor were talking about.
4.6L 2v SOHC
Old 03-09-2012, 01:23 PM
Rockwell28
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by B2norma
I'm still new to the forums and need some help with this topic. I'm confused about why some people stay N/A. Is there any advantages that N/A has over F/I? I don't see how there could be but like I said I'm still new. Also how much horsepower can you get from the 4.6 when staying N/A?
on a 2v its many ppls opinion that staying n/a will cost Alot more in th longrun vs going with a blower trying to get decent numbers n/a. read over these two links on th subjects. one na vs fi and th other is fi cost

http://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums...ore-power.html