4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Clutch install with BBK LT headers

Old 04-01-2012, 06:18 PM
robrocketanski

Default Clutch install with BBK LT headers

Sorry for the length, I write more when I am frustrated. I am wondering if someone would be nice enough to offer any thoughts. I used to be a Toyota tech. I don't know Mustangs but being single at 35 years old a GT convertible sounded like a better choice than a Camry. And I can take any

Basically I can't see a way to get the trans all the way out without moving the engine so here is where I am at-

There is only about an inch to work with between the bell housing and the flywheel so it's pretty hard to slide your hand in there (I have small hands) and slide the pressure plate and disc forward to the flywheel. The pressure plate and disc have to be placed on the input shaft before bolting the flywheel on because they won't fit in or out once the flywheel is on.

So that's bad enough but then there is a shim that has to go between the pressure plate and flywheel. I am not pleased with McLeod clutch for that. It's nearly impossible to do anything without the shim falling off of the little pins on the flywheel, anything including breathing. The engine is sitting angled back and has to stay that way.

I have 2 ideas. First- super glue the shim to the flywheel and carry on with trying to wedge my hand in the 1 inch gap and slide everything into position to bolt up. The tricky part about that is the pressure plate being way too heavy to balance and maneuver (you should have seen my fear balancing the flywheel above my head) and the clutch disc has to magically be held in place while performing the balancing. This option still doesn't allow me to use the clutch alignment tool due to the input shaft being in the way.