4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Need help on some mods.

Old 05-15-2012, 04:57 PM
motormanimatt

Default Need help on some mods.

So im new to the mustang world. I just sold my silverado that was all decked out for mudding for a mustang last summer. And I had a few unawnsered questions because im 20 and still learning about mustangs. First off I been doing alot of research to learn the car inside and out because i always like to know my vehicle. But seems like i get differant awnsers on google. So this car is a bone stock 1998 mustang gt 4.6 automatic i bought with onlyy 68k miles. I wanted to start off by doing a couple of mods like first cold air intake, tuner, and rear end gears, would that make a noticable differant? expecialy for an automatic because of the tuner?. Then this winter i want to do a nitrous setup, not sure what the differance is between and wet and dry nitrous. Right now i have my mufflers cut off, but not sure what would be the best flowmaster to put on for sound untill I have time to install some headers this winter while the car is parked. I bought them couple of months ago. And one last question is that i run sythetic oil, i bought the car with 68k miles and now has 80k miles and i notice it burns a half of a quart of oil about every 3k miles. does that mean a rebuild? cause i know that is worn piston rings when it burns oil so i went with thicker mobile 1 sythetic oil. thanks guy i really appreciate any help and advice.
Old 05-15-2012, 07:05 PM
stevednmc
3rd Gear Member

A. Gears and a tuner are your best first mods. Tuner especially good for an auto trans. And yes you will notice it big time!
B. Avoid the CAI...doesnt do anything, unless you like the looks.
C.Read this for some basics on nitrous(ignore the fact its written for the lowly F body) http://www.go-fast.org/z28/new_to_nitrous.html also google Wet Vs. Dry NOS. alot of stuff comes up for it.