4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Mods for beginners...

Old 12-19-2015, 09:57 PM
Thunderball

Well this somewhat of a shame.. lol.. I just asked my fam for the BBK CAI for Xmas.. And now, it seems that they may be wasting their money. I thought I would get something worth my while out of it. :/

And my thoughts are to get 3.73 gears. And now being sought after the 4.10's.. And a tuner.. I feel I already need one since I have larger/wider tires now.. Feels like my speedo may be off a little... Or I could just be going crazy...
Old 03-11-2016, 04:47 PM
ckelly78z

Newbie here, I just got a 04 Mustang GT convertible (triple black) and already have some plans for it. My very first thing is to replace all the tires, there is currently 4 different brands (and ages) of tires in various states of worn out. Next thing will be 4 new drilled/slotted rotors and pads to match, car is currently grinding the brakes.

Next thing will be subframe connectors, and maybe a Steeda strut tower brace to stiffen things up. After that, I will look at a CAI, or possibly a stock airbox mod to get more air. I would like to get a Diablo Predator tuner to be able to keep up with all the new mods as they come (possibly 3.73 gears, larger TB and plenum, and some underdrive pulleys)

This car will be daily driver during good weather, with some trips to Summit motorsports park for 1/4 mile action, and possibly an autocross or two.
Old 03-11-2016, 06:23 PM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

Originally Posted by ckelly78z
Newbie here, I just got a 04 Mustang GT convertible (triple black) and already have some plans for it. My very first thing is to replace all the tires, there is currently 4 different brands (and ages) of tires in various states of worn out. Next thing will be 4 new drilled/slotted rotors and pads to match, car is currently grinding the brakes.