4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

99 mustang gt supercharged, possible purchase thoughts/opinions

Old 08-22-2012, 07:38 AM
andy9743

Default 99 mustang gt supercharged, possible purchase thoughts/opinions

great forum guys, tons of info. i currently do not have a mustang but i've been looking ran across the following and wanted to get some opinions. as of late i've had the itch to get back into something "fun" to drive again. started looking around for cars that would fit that bill sub 10k manual and v-8. ran across a 99 gt that has a vortec s/c on it. second owner. first owner did the s/c install. has 83k couple sets of rims/tires, exhaust, clutch and short shifter and a few cosmetics. original owner totaled it in 04 fixed it himself (body guy by trade) appears to be straight, i would have never known if he hadn't told me. i'm not very concerned with the work that was done it looks great. car is clean in and out over all. no rust etc. current owner has done brakes, alt, battery etc. to keep it rolling. he's put 12k miles on in the 6 years he's owned. he obviously does not know much about the workings of the car, no idea on the tune or what kind of boost it is running (no gauge). guy seems honest, doesn't come across as shady at all...pretty nerdy, selling the car to get married. i'm going back to take a look at it in a few days with a more critical eye and put it in the air. besides general used car bs to look over anything i should be concerned about with the s/c? i've done a bit of forum reading on the vortec units and they seem reliable and long lasting. about a 3k price tag to buy the unit i believe it has on it (need verify what model exactly) they don't seem to put out more power then the tranny etc. can handle...tranny shifted smooth, clutch was fine. i'm not going to race the car just looking for something that is fun to cruise and has enough power to get out of its own way. mo