4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Blew a sparkplug. Have some questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2012, 07:38 PM
fastbackford351
Foghorn Leghorn

Default Blew a sparkplug. Have some questions

Well, I guess it was bound to happen sooner or later. I jumped into my trusty, bone stock 2002 GT and fired it up only to be greeted with the PHEW PHEW PHEW PHEW of the #2 sparkplug being blown out of its hole. It took the coil pack with it and cracked it all to pieces.

The threads are whipped and it needs to be helicoiled I suppose but I have some questions about this as this is my first time dealing with this situation.

#1. Why are these heads prone to this and is there anything that can be done to lessen the likelyhood of this happening in the future?

#2. Now that one of them has blown are the others likely to follow?

#3. Any 'gotchas' to look out for when we're doing the repair.

Thank you in advance for your council.
Old 12-03-2012, 02:09 AM
BornToFord

Aluminum heads can have this problem if the plugs are overtightened, or if they are too loose. Ford recommends about 14ft lbs of torque at maximum when installing them.

I had a blown plug on a Fiat 850 Coupe with an aluminum head back in the early 70's, so this is nothing new.

If your plugs were properly installed this most likely would not have happened. I would loosen each remaining plug and re-torque them to be sure they are correct. Unless you have more damaged threads you should be OK.

I spoke to the mechanic at my dealer last week and asked what torque he recommended for installation. He said he never uses a torque wrench and has never had a problem. He just has a good feel for how tight plugs should be. He said he has a kit that can be installed without tearing the engine down, and described an aluminum "Keensert" or similar threaded insert.