4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

info on swapping heads npi to pi

Old 12-31-2012, 10:47 PM
stangsnort

Default info on swapping heads npi to pi

I'm new to all this (not working on cars but forums) I wanted to get input from some guys who have done this swap. Although I'm a body guy I do have some knowledge when it come to building a motor.

Things you would have done differently
If its worth it or just spend more money and get a better set of heads etc...

My stang is a 96 with a DOHC is there anything I'd have to change going to a SOHC head? I was reading on build, the guy had his PI head ported polished and added a mild cam and intake and was putting 412hp to the wheels.

Bottom line I wanna read and hear from as many builds as possible so I know I'm making the right build and to avoid common mistakes that sorta thing, Thanks!
Old 01-01-2013, 01:19 AM
JC316
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by stangsnort
I'm new to all this (not working on cars but forums) I wanted to get input from some guys who have done this swap. Although I'm a body guy I do have some knowledge when it come to building a motor.

Things you would have done differently
If its worth it or just spend more money and get a better set of heads etc...

My stang is a 96 with a DOHC is there anything I'd have to change going to a SOHC head? I was reading on build, the guy had his PI head ported polished and added a mild cam and intake and was putting 412hp to the wheels.

Bottom line I wanna read and hear from as many builds as possible so I know I'm making the right build and to avoid common mistakes that sorta thing, Thanks!