4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

What to look for in a '99 GT???

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2013, 07:22 PM
ThatOneKid

Default What to look for in a '99 GT???

Hello all, brand new to the forum. Im thinking about trading one of my cars for a red/black '99 GT. It has cat back FlowMasters, stage 3 clutch, with 162k on the body, and 72k on the motor.

I just wanna know if there are any strange quirks that go along with this car, (as my Saab has many), any problem things to look for. what kind of questions should I ask? What should I be looking for? And, how long can I expect for this car to last before I need to replace any major parts?

Thanks!
Old 02-10-2013, 08:22 PM
HorsePower99
1st Gear Member

If you get it, replace the spark plugs and make sure you do it right. I used to be a tech at a Ford dealer, and you see those engines blow out a lot of spark plugs. I've never seen them blow a stock plug or a plug that any of us at the dealer replaced though. I don't know if people change them hot or just don't torque them right or what. I had mine blow one out and then like an idiot I got scared to touch my plugs and it ended up blowing out another. After that I replaced them all and half of them were really loose. If I had just replaced them after the first I would have avoided blowing out the second one.
Old 02-10-2013, 08:41 PM
ThatOneKid

Thanks, sounds like some good info. Do you have a brand you prefer? and how often should i replace the plugs?
Old 02-11-2013, 09:14 AM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

The stock Motorcraft platinum plugs (or for that matter any single precious metal plug) are due to be changed at 100k miles. Though with the work you describe having been done on the engine it may not have OEM equivalent plugs.