4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

welding questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2013, 04:56 PM
blu30val
2nd Gear Member

Default welding questions

Within the next few weeks I'm finally installing my radiator support. I'm just curious on what equipment I'd be looking at. I know its expensive, however don't know the difference in application for tig, mig, etc. This car was wrecked before I bought it(and recently by me) and it looks like they used brass brazing to tach the radiator support on. I found a cheap brazing kit, however, this doesn't seem like the appropriate fix to me.
Old 02-13-2013, 05:22 PM
TRexGAWD
4th Gear Member

Have you ever welded before? I prefer using a MIG/Flux welder, a TIG is more for thinner metals and requires much more skill..
Old 02-13-2013, 05:34 PM
blu30val
2nd Gear Member

I have never welded, but as a younger tech I want to add more skills to my tool belt. As far as the material goes, its really thin where it needs to be welded to the body.
Old 02-13-2013, 05:44 PM
uberstang1
Chupacabra

you can use electric flux core, using gas just makes for a cleaner weld in this case and offers no structural difference
Old 02-13-2013, 06:01 PM
CPTCO
5th Gear Member

The best advice I can give you is practice practice practice. Don't just dive in. Weld scrap to scrap for a few days before you weld on something you care about. I think you can get a 110volt mig welder at Home Depot or Lowes for not that much money. Go with a brand name like Miller or Hobart. Get a self darkening helmet, it will be lots easier to learn that way.
Once mastered its a great skill to have.
Old 02-13-2013, 07:11 PM
superhawk

Helmet your looking at 70$ for auto darkening