4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

HELP! (Intake manifold PI heads)

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2015, 02:26 AM
96GTMust

Default HELP! (Intake manifold PI heads)

Im new to the mustang, and car world. I own a 1996 mustang GT Stock. Im planning on putting some bolt on mods, improving the upper intake. I noticed a coolant leak coming from my car and I did my homework and learned about the common intake manifold crossover cracking and leaking in 2000 mustangs and older. So naturally I'm investing in replacing and upgrading my intake manifold. Ive learned that i can install the ford racing pi intake manifold that comes stock on 2001 to 2004 4.6L SOHC 2V V8 GT Mustangs. But from my understanding is i must install PI heads first because mine is a 1996. So my first question is, is this true? my second question are PI heads Cylinder heads? My third question, will putting this intake manifold upgrade allow me to upgrade my throttle body and plenum to a 75mm and allow for further greater mods later? and my fourth question, Is it over all worth it??? I could really use some help and advice.
Old 06-12-2015, 07:28 AM
99GTvert
is my username.

PI heads are cylinder heads. PI intake manifold fits with PI heads. There might be a conversion kit for a PI intake to fit with NPI heads but I doubt it. You should be able to run the bigger tb/plenum anyway. You could also save for a supercharger instead but take care of that leak first.
Old 06-12-2015, 08:28 AM
96GTMust

Originally Posted by 99GTvert
PI heads are cylinder heads. PI intake manifold fits with PI heads. There might be a conversion kit for a PI intake to fit with NPI heads but I doubt it. You should be able to run the bigger tb/plenum anyway. You could also save for a supercharger instead but take care of that leak first.