bounceing idle and stalling - Page 3 - MustangForums.com



4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2017, 02:11 PM   #21
tadpole1969
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
tadpole1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ga
Posts: 177
Default

i adjusted the idle today useing my datalogging software got the rmp and desired rpm agreeing now on idle rpm ,idles around 868 to 875 and desired rpm is 868 and idle duty cycle is right at 0.35 ,did a idle relearn and seems good so far havent had another issue with bounceing idle so far, does tend to drop a tad low when i put car in drive dips a little low ,might need to up the idle just a tad more
tadpole1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 03:56 PM   #22
tadpole1969
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
tadpole1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ga
Posts: 177
Default

Never mind went to go out of yard and started bounceing ,still has bounceing idle , dont no why! Always does it when first start moveing

Last edited by tadpole1969; 03-03-2017 at 04:09 PM.
tadpole1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 04:46 PM   #23
WJL
2nd Gear Member
 
WJL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 407
Default

I'm telling ya, go down to the parts store get another IAC swap it out and see what happens if it don't work take it back.

I have 3:73s wished i would got the 4:10s but cams will be my next upgrade
WJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 06:18 PM   #24
tadpole1969
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
tadpole1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ga
Posts: 177
Default

i hear ya on the cam 4 sure ,i just last week did that very thing took old iac and made autozone replace it and maf, next thing is the tps guess i can take it bk and replace it to rule it out, my father keeps telling me its a vac leak somewhere which may be .but i have sprayed wd40 all over the place, only leak i found was the egr gasket that i already fixed , one side note wd40 will clean the **** outta dirty intakes and valve cover 's looks like new afterwards lol, you should get them 410's ! wow what a difference it makes!

Last edited by tadpole1969; 03-03-2017 at 06:25 PM.
tadpole1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 10:35 PM   #25
OrangeRush98
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9
Default

I have the exact same problem on my 98'. I have an 03 engine though. Please keep updating, maybe it will help me as well.
OrangeRush98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 07:19 AM   #26
tadpole1969
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
tadpole1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ga
Posts: 177
Default

i sure will let you know what i find out , cause i know your pain brother, going to replace the tps today. if that doesnt solve it ,gonna put stock tb backk on long enough to see if the bbk tb is the issue

Last edited by tadpole1969; 03-04-2017 at 07:24 AM.
tadpole1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 08:46 AM   #27
OrangeRush98
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks. I've seen tons of threads on different forums for this same problem. None have been any help so far. Everyone says to replace iac, but it never works. I was thinking vacuum as well, but I have yet to pinpoint a vacuum leak. I have EGR delete, so I know it's not there. TPS sensor may work, but I've heard it all from fuel pump to ECU to locked up torque converter. I guess we're in this one together. I will let you know if I come upon any valuable information.
OrangeRush98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 10:56 AM   #28
OrangeRush98
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9
Default

OK, been doing some research, and I've got a few things it could be. Low voltage, bad Alt. Could be Maf getting bad readings because your pulling hot air from the engine and cold air from the wheel well causing turbulence. Could be that you upgraded your injectors and your Maf is the stock Maf or a Maf that isn't calibrated to those injectors, and the Computer is getting confused and sending the wrong signals. Just a few thoughts. Let me know.if it helps.
OrangeRush98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 12:01 PM   #29
tadpole1969
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
tadpole1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ga
Posts: 177
Default

i did replace factory injectors but they are same as the factory 1's 19lb they are accells , i know they guy from bama said if there was ever a problem it would be because of the aftermarket injectors ,but dang the same people (american muscle ) who sell bama life time tunes for bama sold me the injectors but yet bama tuners say to not use them to put stock ones back on ,im like wth and **** can 279.00 bucks i payed for them and they are not even 2 months old ! main reason they said is , because they dont have the software to read data from aftermarket parts only ford oem parts i may just stick those factory injectors back on and see if problem remains

Last edited by tadpole1969; 03-04-2017 at 12:09 PM.
tadpole1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 12:15 PM   #30
OrangeRush98
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9
Default

I have 24lb injectors in mine, but I have an aftermarket C&L CAI and Maf, I wonder if that might be what's causing mine...? I wonder if the dyno tune I have scheduled the 20th can get them working together if they aren't already?
OrangeRush98 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.