4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

General spark plug question

Old 11-20-2017, 03:26 PM
j_99GT

Default General spark plug question

So this is my first time posting on a forum, I’ve been an avid reader when I need info but I’ve never actually asked the questions myself, figured it’d be a good time to get to it.

Some quick background, I’ve owned two V6 Mustangs (a 98 and an 02), and I’ve always replaced the plugs with OEM motocrafts. Now I’ve got a 99 GT and it’s time to replace the plugs, and I’m wondering if there’s any benefit to going with a higher performance plug instead of an OEM. The motor is stock except for the CAI and I won’t be making any significant engine mods in the near future. Any suggestions?
Old 11-20-2017, 06:31 PM
Buck Sergeant
2nd Gear Member

Default General spark plug question

J 99GT, from what you outlined, unless you plan on bumping up the compression, I would stay with the OEM plugs. You could play a little bit with the gap, but again the benefits from "high performance," plugs will probably not even be noticed. I would tweek in the plug gap, and the timing.
Old 11-20-2017, 06:41 PM
imp
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by Buck Sergeant
J 99GT, from what you outlined, unless you plan on bumping up the compression, I would stay with the OEM plugs. You could play a little bit with the gap, but again the benefits from "high performance," plugs will probably not even be noticed. I would tweek in the plug gap, and the timing.
Good advice as far as I'm concerned......I bought a set of "Double Platinums", not sure exactly WTH that means, because there was a massive rebate going on, price came to, like, under a buck each. They go up from Platinum to Iridium, but these things were argued to death on another forum which has essentially driven me away. imp
Old 11-20-2017, 07:52 PM
Z28KLR
4th Gear Member