4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Several questions about supercharging

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2005, 03:24 PM
MustangAce

Default Several questions about supercharging

Some background -I have a 2001 black Mustang GT, mostly stock although the last owner upgraded the exhaust system and put some bling wheels on it, other minor mods. I will be having any work done by a shop as I have no tools/garage/experience etc

What are my different routes in terms of expense for supercharging? Lets say the high end would be a vortech or similar one. Would I expect to pay ~$5,000 installed?

Ok lets say I went budget. What are some known vehicles that I could pull a supercharger from out of the scrap yard? Is this a good route? If I obtain used supercharger, keeping in mind I know little at this point (I am doing research), is this going to be like everything else in life i.e. you get what you pay for and superchargers do give out?

Is this the right move? My local mechanic told me what I need to do is pull an already supercharged cobra engine from an 03' or 04' and drop it in. Is this a wise decision and is this even an option if I am not willing to do the work myself as someone has to pull the engine from the yard etc.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated!
Old 11-28-2005, 03:25 PM
code3GT
Mustang Nazi

Default RE: Several questions about supercharging

Buy an '03-'04 Cobra complete car.
Old 11-28-2005, 03:28 PM
Dan04COBRA
Super Moderator

Getting a Cobra engine will cost well over $4,000 and then getting it to fit and reworking your suspension to handle that beast of a motor will cost even more money.

Since you aren't doing the work yourself and you'll be paying someone by the hour, that swap could cost thousands by the time they are done.