4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

I need advice fast on a 1996 GT....

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2006, 12:57 AM
SaleenSC

Default I need advice fast on a 1996 GT....

Ok so heres the deal. Im going to see a Mustang this weekend. Heres the description given:

1996 Ford Mustang GT, 86K low miles, V8, 5spd, ac, ps, pb, pw, pdl, tilt, fully loaded, lthr int, pwr seat, extra clean, $5988.

Its also a convertible, but the ad didnt say so, I can see it in the picture. What I need help on is what I should be looking at when I go down to see about getting it this saturday. Are there points that tend to go out quickly or bad that I need to look at? Any bugs in the design of the 96' that I should know about? Is this a good price? I love mustangs, but I am fairly new to the whole thing experience-wise. I know Jeeps inside and out but I assume this is completely different in regards to what I need to be looking for. Need help quick Im going down saturday thanks....
Old 02-23-2006, 01:05 AM
monkeydude3
6th Gear Member

Default RE: I need advice fast on a 1996 GT....

well my friend it looks like you are goin for the type of car I went for as well... here's my scoop... I got my 1997 GT with 103000 miles on it for what ended up being $4500... it now needs a clutch, synchros, and a few gaskets on the bottom of the engine (oil pan and rear main). These are no problem as I am studying to be a master tech, and will do these myself. It how has 109000 on it. However, I tested the compression and it is good.