4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Long Crank when starting???

Old 06-09-2008, 02:06 PM
zea14

Default Long Crank when starting???

I have an '04 GT and sometimes it fires right up with all the power in the world. The next time it might crank for what feels like an eternity. I had a charging system check at Sears and all was fine though I did go ahead and put in a new battery to be safe since it still had the one from the factory.The stanghas around 28k miles.

Could this be fuel related? PVC? Starter? Maybe the auto trans not engaging well enough in park? I'm not noticing any other issues with idle or drive. I'm not a mechanic by any means and only go to Sears for batteries. Before I head to the shop or dealer, I thought I'd ask here. There is nothing more embarrassing than driving a hot car and having someone stare at you when it won't fire right up!
Old 06-09-2008, 02:17 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

Default RE: Long Crank when starting???

ORIGINAL: zea14

I have an '04 GT and sometimes it fires right up with all the power in the world. The next time it might crank for what feels like an eternity. I had a charging system check at Sears and all was fine though I did go ahead and put in a new battery to be safe since it still had the one from the factory.The stanghas around 28k miles.

Could this be fuel related? PVC? Starter? Maybe the auto trans not engaging well enough in park? I'm not noticing any other issues with idle or drive. I'm not a mechanic by any means and only go to Sears for batteries. Before I head to the shop or dealer, I thought I'd ask here. There is nothing more embarrassing than driving a hot car and having someone stare at you when it won't fire right up!
Could be a number of things.
1) If it were a parking issue then it would not crank at all. So scratch that
2) PCV has NOTHING to do with starting so scratch that one