4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Car was broken into

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2009, 06:58 PM
foned

Default Car was broken into

Basically until tonight i didnt realize how they got in, i figured i must have left my car unlocked, until i noticed the lock had been tampered with, so i grabbed some tools and started tampering myself, i used my remote lock and locked my car, and set what ive always assumed was an alarm (the horn honks) now im not so sure, i was able to open my car up fairly easy and the door opened with no alarm going off.

any body else have this problem? im considering filling the lock with some glue or something to prevent others from breaking into my car again, like i said, it was pretty simple for me to open and i have no lock picking experience.
Old 12-10-2009, 07:09 PM
bopiela
4th Gear Member

Dang, sorry to hear that man. But also good to know. I'll be looking into that on my car now... Hope the damage was too bad!
Old 12-10-2009, 07:44 PM
foned

thanks, its not too bad, basically the bottom of the lock is just bent down, and the sides are bent wider open, and the key doesn't work to open the door any more. the worst part is not feeling like my car is secure any more, that and they stole my camera ;/
Old 12-10-2009, 07:49 PM
bopiela
4th Gear Member

dang, that stinks man. sorry to hear about the cam!
Old 12-10-2009, 10:24 PM
MU71L4710N
5th Gear Member

that honk is a decoy (there incase someone eyeballs your car when you pull up that may deter them and make them think there is an alarm on your car), there is no alarm system stock on our mustangs. just a panic alarm (the red button on your remote).
Old 12-10-2009, 10:59 PM
Sonic04

I have 2 different things to add here: