4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Bucking lurching in first gear??

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2009, 05:44 AM
speed88
1st Gear Member

Default 2004 GT Bucking lurching in first gear??

I have been driving the car for about 2 months. It's a used 2004 mustang gt with 51,000+ miles on the clock. My first manual transmission car. Occasionally, when starting off from first giving it gas (1500-2000 rpm) and letting out the clutch slowly all the way the car will sometimes buck/lurch like crazy. Even if i fully push in the clutch and let it back out, it does the same thing. It only goes away after I shift to second gear but it has even happened in second a few times. Is this normal? Any idea what it is or could be causing this? Sometimes just putting around in a parking lot (5 mph) with the clutch all the way out in first I will go to give it a little gas and it just starts bucking. Any advice on what I am doing wrong or am i just a really bad driver?

Last edited by speed88; 07-26-2009 at 06:31 AM.
Old 07-26-2009, 09:38 AM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

Our cars, which are basically 1/2 ton pickup trucks with flashy bodies, are prone to this--as are most all higher torque manual transmission RWD vehicles. You just need more experience to refine your use of the clutch and the skinny pedal.

Once you gain that experience you'll be able to make it do that as you wish, and will find that every now and then (more rarely as time passes) it will buck a bit anyway...
Old 07-27-2009, 05:16 AM
speed88
1st Gear Member

Thank you cliffyk.
Old 07-27-2009, 06:25 AM
defconfire
5th Gear Member

+1 my Mustang was my first Manual car and when I first got it I did that a few times in the first week or so, once you figure it out it wont happen any more.

Just give it a little bit more gas and slip the clutch a little bit more when your getting moving.