4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Load howl threw air intake

Old 01-12-2012, 10:02 PM
hijinxtattoo

Default Load howl threw air intake

This is my first post so a little info on me, I am a tattoo artist and current student at UTI. Have had my current Mustang sense it was new and have had a few others over the years so I know my way around most of them.

My current issue is a howling coming from the air intake only when the throttle plate is closed. I have replaced the IAC and have really narrowed the sound to be coming from the bypass hose that runs from the IAC to the intake in order to bypass the throttle body. I have read this to be a common problem but was unable to find any TSBs on it. Anyway is anyone familar with this and could it just be a crack in the black box that acts as a muffler in the bypass line? I am going to try some different hose configurations tomorrow and see if I can effect the tone of the noise but any suggestions and or help would be nice. Thanks.
Old 01-13-2012, 11:13 AM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

If the throttle stop screw preset is incorrect (too far open) the IAC could be bottoming out while the PCM is attempting to control the idle speed--this would cause the noise you describe, even with a new IAC. Here is the procedure for re-setting the throttle stop screw.

The PCM sends a 2.1 kHz variable duty cycle signal to the IAC , that looks like this at idle (with a properly set TB stop):

Because of the inductance of the IAC solenoid's coil, and inertia of the plunger, the plunger does not jump about wildly when driven by this signal however it does vibrate a bit. At 42% duty cycle the IAC is being held open at approximately 1/2 of its total range, allowing the PCM to open or close it as needed to control idle speed.