4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Nitrous vs Supercharger

Old 06-13-2012, 07:41 PM
MyGt03
2nd Gear Member

Default Nitrous vs Supercharger

Was looking into a supercharger system. Very expensive and a lot is needed along with the kit. Injectors, MAF, fuel management, engine management, etc...

At the same time, I was considering a nitrous wet kit. Say a 100 shot or 125 shot. Kit comes with everything, easy install. Still need a tune?

Can anyone explain (in a quick nut shell) the pros and cons to each?

I am a noob to both. But here is my thinking. Please correct me.

Supercharger: Well, I don't really know to much about them except they give good gains on low boost (8-9psi). You will be running boost at all times. Cost is outrageous compared to NO2.

Nitrous: Simple kit and simple install. The power is only there when you want it to be there. Cheap. Get wet kit for 500-600ish bucks. Include bottle heater, window switch, remote bottle opener, puts cost at 1000ish.

I know I am leaving a ton of variables out of the equation here. My main goal is more power on a budget. Also, when the punk *** kid in the ricer pulls up next to me, I just want the extra "oomph" to make sure I will not fall to a turd Civic...lol

Thanks in advance to any helpful info.
Old 06-13-2012, 10:42 PM
MustangMan00
5th Gear Member

nitrous-cheap, instant power when needed, great torque, illegal to have hooked up on the street, needs a lot of parts to make it work safely

s/c-depends on style but both you can stay out of boost if needed, more so with centrifugal, not TOO pricey when done right, but expensive compared to nitrous, great power gaines, more hp than torque on 4.6L at least

it's your choice, I have 2 roomates that went nitrous and it got old with them pretty quickly, one is going turbo possibly by the end of the year.