4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

HELP! My rear end is hurting!!..lol

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2012, 05:51 PM
KillaVolts

Default HELP! My rear end is hurting!!..lol

Hey guys..I'm a disabled vet, I'm new here, and really in a tight spot and need some help..Where does it tell me or how do I find out what type of rear end/ diff. gears I have on my car ? Didn't have a manual when I bought it..It's a 04' 40th anniv. GT (Crimson red), with a standard tranny..Also, what is the proper way to check your diff. fluid level and the weight of fluid it has in it? What would happen if you mixed fluids of diff weights?..And finally IF my rear is screwed, whats the "cheapest"/ easiest fix?? rebuild it?..new one?..I keep reading about 8.8 gears?..I'm a vet, and am presently laid off, so cash is a little short..These are the main questions I need help with. The "history" follows, but I don't want to waste you guys time..