4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Lowering springs/Control arms, cheap vs expensive help...

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2013, 08:53 PM
bballv20

Default Lowering springs/Control arms, cheap vs expensive help...

Hi everyone, I want to lower my 99 GT convertible but need some help and advice because im on a budget. My GT's suspension/struts are all stock except for a Eibach Anti-Roll sway bar kit I put on it last year. I am on a budget because I just spent 650 on a shaker hood system and im getting new paint on it plus im a college student. This is my daily driver in the summer, I'm mainly doing this for looks and to help keep the rear end down/handle better on corners. I'm only looking to lower it by 1.5-2". My questions are;

1. Lowering Springs-Would you trust buying the cheaper Ford racing and BBk springs over eibach?
2. Upper and Lower rear control arms-Do I want them to be adjustable?
3. CC plates-Do i need them? Ive heard yes and no.
4. Saving money-I understand you get what you pay for but are some of the less expensive parts/products just as good as the higher priced ones?
5. Am I missing anything I need?

Thank you for your help
Old 05-22-2013, 09:49 PM
jeff37110
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by bballv20
Hi everyone, I want to lower my 99 GT convertible but need some help and advice because im on a budget. My GT's suspension/struts are all stock except for a Eibach Anti-Roll sway bar kit I put on it last year. I am on a budget because I just spent 650 on a shaker hood system and im getting new paint on it plus im a college student. This is my daily driver in the summer, I'm mainly doing this for looks and to help keep the rear end down/handle better on corners. I'm only looking to lower it by 1.5-2". My questions are;

1. Lowering Springs-Would you trust buying the cheaper Ford racing and BBk springs over eibach?